Rolling Thunder Cyclocross Race November 3rd

Monday, October 31, 2011

Curry Rules Bozeman - Takes the title back from Frank

John Curry is the Montana Cyclocross State Champion. Frank Gonzalez had shown good form on Saturday taking the win from Bob Presta at Mulecross. On a twisty State Champs course Curry jumped out in front with Toby Meierbachtol and Bob Presta in tow. The Missoulians liked the course that favored punchier riders. Meierbachtol busted a derailleur and Presta had a mechanical taking both men out of contention. Gonzalez's consistent riding brought him into second but Curry was gone. Presta fought back through the field and finished 3rd. In his best ever MT weekend the MBW rider had a 2nd and 3rd. However the story of the day is once again the Curry/Frank 1-2 at the state. These guys have dominated cross in MT for the last 4 years.

On the ladies side, Lisa Curry and Lindsy Campbell had great starts and controlled the first part of the race. Anna Dingman rode consistently and within her range to slowly bring back Campbell. Great ladies field with Ingrid Lovitt, Megan Lawson, Amy Frykman, and a Fitzgerald's rider all contesting. Lisa Curry is the State Champ for 2011.

Congrats to other state champs; Erik Horn and Chance Cooke

Pascal Beauvais Montana State Champs Pictures